Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
See the latest RNC updates from NPR

Seattle and Vancouver to host 13 Men's World Cup matches in 2026

Fans watch the first half of an attendance record-breaking NWSL soccer match at Lumen Field between the OL Reign and the Washington Spirit, Friday, Oct. 6, 2023, in Seattle.
Lindsey Wasson
/
AP
Fans watch the first half of an attendance record-breaking NWSL soccer match at Lumen Field between the OL Reign and the Washington Spirit, Friday, Oct. 6, 2023, in Seattle.

FIFA has announcedthe match schedule for the 2026 Men's World Cup. The tournament will be held across North America, with matches played in 16 cities across the U.S., Canada and Mexico.

Seattle will host six matches, including two in the knockout round and one of the three U.S. group stage matches.

During the broadcast of the announcement Sunday, U.S. Men's National Team Head Coach Gregg Berhalter responded to the news:

"Then thinking about Seattle with its rich fan culture, loud atmosphere in the stadium. I can already picture our bus driving to the stadium, weaving through the city and having the march to the match, seeing the fans. It's going to be an incredible atmosphere."

The first game at Lumen Field will be played on June 15, 2026. Seven matches will be played in Vancouver, B.C.

Here are the World Cup matches scheduled for the Pacific Northwest:

Group stage matches

  • Saturday, June 13, 2026 - BC Place Vancouver
  • Monday, June 15, 2026 - Seattle Stadium
  • Thursday, June 18, 2026 - BC Place Vancouver
  • Friday, June 19, 2026 - Seattle Stadium
  • Sunday, June 21, 2026 - BC Place Vancouver
  • Wednesday, June 24, 2026 - BC Place Vancouver
  • Wednesday, June 24, 2026 - Seattle Stadium
  • Friday, June 26, 2026 - BC Place Vancouver
  • Friday, June 26, 2026 - Seattle Stadium

Round of 32

  • Wednesday, July 1, 2026 - Seattle Stadium
  • Thursday, July 2, 2026 - BC Place Vancouver

Round of 16

  • Monday, July 6, 2026 - Seattle Stadium
  • Tuesday, July 7, 2026 - BC Place Vancouver

The World Cup Final will be played July 19, 2026 in New Jersey. Match tickets and information have not yet been released.

Grace Madigan is KNKX's former Arts & Culture reporter. Her stories focused on how people express themselves and connect to their communities through art, music, media, food, and sport.