Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

KNKX Wins 2018 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award

KNKX has garnered a 2018 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award for excellence in the News Series Category from the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTNDA) honoring KNKX’s 2017 series, Unpacking Government.  The Murrow Awards recognize media that demonstrate the values and principles set forth by the pioneer and set the standards for the highest quality of broadcast journalism.  KNKX is in the Large Market Category, Region 1 which includes Washington, Alaska, Idaho, Montana and Oregon.

Initially, the KNKX news team did not intend to do a series as comprehensive as Unpacking Government, but felt the public needed to be more informed about how government works following the 2016 election.  Throughout the 14-part series that aired over four months during the Washington legislative session, journalists grappled with weekly questions about government and its functions in Washington State.  Lead reporter Simone Alicea tackled the topic of civics education and offered key insights on adults’ struggle to civically engage.  Other team members addressed concerns such as legal protection and the limits of executive power.

“In a time when national news cycles can seem frighteningly fast, I am glad to see stories about our unique local politics highlighted," said Alicea.  “I think we learned a lot from this series that will inform our reporting moving forward.”

Regional Murrow Award-winning stories put public interest above all else, provide a catalyst for public discussion, and adhere to the RTDNA Code of Ethics.  Of the awards given to journalists, the Regional Murrow Awards are among the most respected in the world.  Some prominent journalists responsible for Regional Murrow Award winning stories include Katie Couric, Diane Sawyer, Tom Brokaw, Scott Pelley, David Muir and Lester Holt.  The 2018 awards recognize more than 307 local radio, television and digital news organizations across the country and internationally in 16 categories and from more than 4,400 entries.

“At a time when it’s fashionable to bash so-called mainstream media, it’s more important than ever to recognize the extraordinary work of dedicated journalists who serve communities across our country,” said RTDNA Chairman Scott Libin.

Regional winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged in May.  National awards, including those for network news organizations, large digital news organizations and for students, will be announced in June.